Palau Balmes

Calle Palau Balmes , 29 46003 València

Unique space in Valencia (former headquarters of the medieval guild of Carpenters and origin of the Fallas festivals), recovered in the 21st century for the celebration of cultural activities and events, public or private. During the Middle Ages, wood craftsmen were very important social agents for the use of this raw material for the construction of houses, boats, tools and the vast majority of containers and objects for daily use. In Valencia, the river Turia represented a direct route of arrival of wood from the mountainous areas of Cuenca, Teruel or Ademuz and, after the Christian conquest of the old Kingdom, one of the first carpenter's guilds was created. In fact, on January 17, 1242, the Llibre del Repartiment already assigned two workshops to the master carpenter Guillem Francolí in front of the Church of San Martín in Valencia, a parish where other wood craftsmen settled and became a union headquarters until 1,479, when the Valencian wood craftsmen themselves built the Palau de Balmes for the meetings of the “Confraria e oficial dels fusters”. In 1774 the ordinances of the Gremi de Fusters were renewed by means of a Royal Decree of the Council of Castile and the 60 carpenters of the Valencia guild rebuilt the old palace on Balmes street, each of them making the 60 drawers of the coffered ceiling that decorates its ceilings, as well as other wooden elements that are still preserved in the building. The very origin of the Fallas seems to be linked to the old custom of the Carpenters Guild of burning old junk on the day of San José, its patron.

Interest information

Get directions